Emergency Contact: Blog Tour




The AusYABloggers in collaboration with Simon & Schuster Australia, bring you the Emergency Contact Blog Tour by Korean-American author Mary H.K. Choi. 


The tour runs from January 15th until January 19th 2019 and includes some of our Australian and New Zealand bloggers, Instagrammers and Youtubers.


40491131
Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi

Publication: January 1st, 2019 by Simon Schuster Australia

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee, high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she’d somehow landed a boyfriend, they never managed to know much about each other. Now Penny is heading to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer. It’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind.

Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a cafĂ© and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him. 


When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to, you know, see each other.
----    ----    ----    ----

Mary H.K. Choi is a writer for The New York Times, GQ, Wired, and The Atlantic. She has written comics for Marvel and DC, as well as a collection of essays called Oh, Never Mind. She is the host of Hey, Cool Job!, a podcast about jobs, and is a culture correspondent for VICE News Tonight on HBO. Emergency Contact is her first novel. Mary grew up in Hong Kong and Texas and now lives in New York. 

Author & Book LINKS: Twitter | Instagram | Website |
Amazon | DymocksQBD | Readings | Kindle | iBooks




Be sure to check out all the stops!


January 15th

Happy Indulgence - Blog review + GIVEAWAY
Diva Booknerd - Blog review 
@aussiebookbandit - Instagram review 
Angel Reads - Blog review
@Frankenbookie - Instagram review 
Paperback Princess - Blog review


 January 16th 

@bookishuniversee - Instagram review + GIVEAWAY
Paperback & Flick Chick - Blog review
@a.reader - Instagram review
Thoughts by Tash - Blog review 
@shelle_reads_books - Instagram review
Triple M Bookclub / Bitches Know Books - Facebook review


 January 17th 

@theliterarycasanova - Instagram review + GIVEAWAY
Alliee reads - Blog review
1 girl….2 many books! - Blog review
Noveltea Corner  - YouTube review
Foureyed Fangirl - Blog review


 January 18th 

@bookbookowl - Instagram review + GIVEAWAY
The Chronic Bookworm Blog - Blog review 
Jessica's Bookworld  - Blog review 
@lifeofinkandwords - Instagram review
Bookish Kirra - Blog review
readctbooks - Blog review


 January 19th 

Paper Fury - Blog review + GIVEAWAY
Read at Midnight - Blog review
Wild Heart Reads - Blog review
Looking for the Panacea - Blog review
Doddy about Books - Blog review
Truffle reads - Blog review

AusYABloggers 2019 Reading Challenge


Hey there Australian and New Zealand young adult readers - New year, new reading challenge!

How does it work?

2019’s challenge will be based on two YA book prompts each month. We are going to carry out a buddy read each month, that will cover one out of the two prompts.

You can choose to read the buddy book with us and then pick one other book to read to meet the months requirements. We will have a Goodreads discussion post for each buddy read and are planning to hold group chats on twitter at the end of each month to discuss the buddy reads. Alternatively, you can pick two books of your own. 

You do not have to take part in the buddy reads to complete the challenge. Each month one of your reads must be either an OZ or NZ title and each book can only count towards one prompt.

Example A
Each Month
#1 book prompt (own choice Aussie or NZ YA title)
#2 book prompt (partake in buddy read)

Example B
Each Month
#1 book prompt (own choice title)
#2 book prompt (own choice Aussie or NZ YA title)

Example C
Each Month
#1 book prompt (own choice title)
#2 book prompt (partake in buddy read, which is an Aussie or NZ YA title)

I hope that was enough examples for you to catch my drift :-)

Complete the challenge and be entered into the draw to win prizes!!!

To register, click HERE. Feel free to invite friends, readers and bloggers as long as they're either Australian or New Zealand to be eligible to win.

You won’t be able to complete every prompt using OZ and NZ YA books, but for each prompt you manage to complete using only OZ and NZ YA books you will gain our amazement at your awesomeness.

We will release the monthly prompts three months in advance, so you can plan your reads and try to include any review copies or ARC editions. Please read only the prompts provided for that month or months prior within that month. We ask that you please be honest not skip ahead.

For Example
If you miss two prompts in February and it's now March, you may read the march prompts plus those you've missed during February. Do not read April prompts during March. Simples!

How Do I report What I've read?

Are you excited? I’m excited!!

At the end of the month simply reply in the report post HERE with the prompt and title of the book you've read.

For Example
JAN #1 Book title
JAN #2 Book title

To make it easier to keep track of your reads for the challenge please just edit your original reply post each time. Clicking the edit button will allow you to add books, remove them and add new prompts to your reply as you go along. Doing the reporting this way will stop the thread ending up being over full and make it easier to keep track of your own and everyone else’s reads :-).

Of course if you have any questions or need help with prompts, feel free to contact us on Goodreads or Twitter.

Prizes

For everyone who completes the challenge, you will be entered into the draw to win some fantastic prizes. Check back for more prize details as we reveal them! 

What Does #LoveOzYA Mean to Me by @ThoughtsbyTash



As someone who has adapted Australia as their home, but was luckily enough to spend my formative years in NZ. I have grown up with the movement of #LoveOzYA and have seen it grown.  From the small humble beginnings to the movement it is now.  It wouldn’t be the same movement without the champions and the novels that have come out in the last few years. We as readers and bloggers have had a role in this movement. A movement that has come so far, yet has so far to go. There have been pivot moments that have come and made their lasting mark. Yet in 2017 we were still seeking the own voice reads from the indigenous and seeking more diversity in novels despite what is out there.

If you asked me in 2011 who my favourite Oz YA authors were, it was easy and simple.  It would of been Melina Marchetta and Mary Grant Bruce. Authors like Steph Bowe weren’t in my world despite being published and readily available in the market. I grew up in a world where these books weren’t readily pushed towards me despite my love of reading . I gravitated to books that were popular or  were classic because of my education and choices available to me.  I had access to libraries like many others. Yet there was no screaming promotion or indication that there were beautiful stories out there from talented local authors.  Stories that I would love to have read as a teenager in Melbourne suburbia. 

OZ YA is a celebration of what a multi diverse nation we are to an extent, as there is still work to be done.  In the six years I have been blogging and been part of the community . I have seen many new stories comes out. Brilliant  life changing stories. Stories that  have educated me and changed my perspective on things. Books where I could utterly relate to the lead character and make me proud to say that I belong to this beautiful country.

#LoveOzYA maybe seen just a  movement to some but it is more just a movement.  It is not just an escape from the real world anymore, to forget things and find another character to love. #LoveOzYA is a way of life. Think about the bigger picture. We are supporting one of our own and every sale gives back to the industry.  Allowing the industry to invest and discover more of their stories. Allowing everyone to find their own little piece of  Oz YA.

Do I wish that as  a teenager, I had books like The First Third from Will Kotakis or  Life in Space from Melissa Keil. The books that current teenagers and future generations will have the privilege of  being able to grow up with. 

Yes undoubtedly. However I wouldn’t change a thing. YA is written for teenagers but I still find myself  drawn to the magic beautiful tales that exist. Lessons that as I as an adult still find myself relating to.

 #LoveOzYA isn't just a movement. It is a way of life.

You can find Tash via Thoughts by Tash  Twitter  Instagram and Goodreads




© AusYABloggers. Design by Fearne.